Government at a Glance Government at a Glance

Quick Links Quick Links

Department of Governance Reforms Department of Governance Reforms

1. Name of the Administrative Department: Governance Reforms

2. Minister In charge:

Name email Telephone No. Photograph
Office Residence
- - - -


3. Principal Secretary/Secretary of Administrative Department:

Name & Designation e-mail Telephone Nos.
Office Residence Mobile
Sh. Sarvesh Kaushal, IAS
Principal Secretary 0172-2740156
0172-2747034 -
Sh. R. K. Verma, IAS
Secretary 0172-2742131 0172-2625405 9814106265


4. Directorate of Governance Reforms:

Name & Designation e-mail Telephone No.
Office Residence Mobile
Sh. H.S. Kandhola, PCS
Special Secretary-Cum-Director
Governance Reforms 0172-2600971 0172-2748655 98780-77770


5. Business Rules of Department:

Vide an order issued by Department of General Administration (General Coordination Branch) vide no. 1/1/2012-GC(5)/3742 dated 16-March-2012, Allocation of Business Rules (1st Amendment), 2012, the Department of Governance Reforms has been created with the following functions:

  • All matters related to:
    1. Administrative re-organization and streamlining of administration
    2. Reports of Administrative Reforms Commission
    3. Improvement in office procedure and systems
    4. Indian Institute of Public Administration, and
    5. Formulation of policies regarding maintenance and retention of records
  • Administrative Reforms and e-Governance in all departments of the Government, reports of the Administrative Reforms
    Commission and Punjab Governance Reforms Commission, National e-Governance Programme.
  • Administration of the Right to Information Act
  • Management of State Data Centre, State Wide Area Network, State Service Delivery Gateway and related matters


6. Services provided by Department:

  1. Government to Government (G2G)
    • Data Centre Hosting Service
    • Pawan Connectivity
    • Email
  2. Government to Citizen (G2C)
    • SSDG
    • e-District
    • Sewa Kendras
  3. Government to Employee (G2E)
    • Training in IT and e-Governance


7. Societies/ Commissions working under the control of  Governance Reform:

  1. Societies:

Punjab State e-Governance Society (PSeGS) - The primary objective of the Punjab State e-Governance Society (PSEGS) is to administer the implementation of E-Governance projects for the overall benefit of the citizens and public.

Contact information of Board of Governors of PSeGS is as under:

Name & Designation e-mail Telephone No.
Office Residence Mobile
Sh. Sukhbir Singh Badal
- 0172-2742477 0172-2746383 -
Sh. Sarvesh Kaushal, IAS,
Senior Vice Chairman 0172-2740156
0172-2747034 -
Sh. H.S. Kandhola, PCS
Member Secretary 0172-2600971 0172-2748655 98780-77770


District Sukhmani Societies (DSS) - District Sukhmani Societies have been established in all the districts, headed by respective Deputy Commissioners. Contact information is as under:

S.No District Phone No e-mail  Official Website
1 Amritsar 0183-2223551
2 Bathinda 0164-2210042
3 Barnala 0164-244360
4 Faridkot 01639 251051
5 Fatehgarh Sahib 01763-232215
6 Fazilka 01638-260555 Under Construction
7 Ferozepur 01632- 244008
8 Gurdaspur 01874-247500
9 Hoshiarpur 01882-220301
10 Jalandhar 0181-2224783
11 Kapurthala 01822-2333777
12 Ludhiana 0161-2403100
13 Mansa 01652-227700
14 Moga 01636-234400
15 Mukatsar 01632-263643
16 Pathankot 0186-2220324
17 Patiala 0175-2311300
18 SBS Nagar 01823-221301
19 Roop Nagar 01881-221150
20 Sangrur 01672-234004
21 SAS Nagar 0172-2270761
22 Tarn Taran 01852-224101


     2. Commissions:

Punjab Governance Reforms Commission (PGRC): This Commission has been set up to improve the welfare of the disadvantaged, marginalized and deprived sections in Punjab and achieve good Governance based on high ethical standards. Contact information is as under:

Name & Designation e-mail Telephone Nos. Official Website
Office Residence
Dr. Pramod Kumar,
Chairman 0172-2625941
Dr. G. Vajralingam,
Member Secretary 0172-2743541 -


Punjab Right to Service Commission (PRTSC): The PRTS Act-2011 was enacted with the sole objective of providing an effective frame work for time bound delivery of services being provided by various government departments in order to promote transparency and accountability. Contact information is as under:

Name & Designation e-mail Telephone Nos. Official Website
Office Residence
Sh. S C Agrawal, IAS (Retd.)
Chief Commissioner 0172-2790421 0172-2747034
Secretary post vacant


Punjab Right to Information Commission (PRTIC):

Contact information is as under:

Name & Designation e-mail Telephone Nos. Official Website
Office Residence
S. Sarwan Singh Channy, IAS (Retd.)
Chief Information Commissioner 0172-4630054
Secretary post vacant


For detailed information:

Department's Website: