Government at a Glance Government at a Glance

Quick Links Quick Links

Department of Economic & Statistical Organisation Department of Economic & Statistical Organisation

1.  Name of the Administrative Department:  Economic and Statistical Organisation (ESO), Punjab under department of Planning, Punjab.

2.  Minister In charge:

Name e-mail Telephone Nos. Photograph
Office Residence Mobile
- - - - -


3.  Additional Chief Secretary / Financial Commissioner / Principal Secretary / Secretary of Administrative Department:

Name & Designation e-mail Telephone Nos.
Office Residence Mobile
Sh. Jaspal Singh IAS
Secretary Planning 0172-2740771 0172-2711043 99885-28481


4. Head of Department:

Name & Designation e-mail Telephone Nos.
Office Residence Mobile
Sh. Mohan Lal Sharma
Economic Adviser
Govt. of Punjab 0172-2704540 0172-2674025 7589000014


5.  Business Rules of the department:

As per Business Rules 2007, (with subsequent amendments) the Economic and Statistical Organisation, Punjab has to conduct the business on the following subjects:-


  1. All matters relating to the collection, compilation and analysis of socio-economic data.
  2. All matters concerning preparation of Annual Economic Survey of the Punjab Economy.
  3. Tendering of advice to the Government on economic and statistical matters.        
  4. All matters relating to the coordination of statistical activities of various Departments.

6.  Services provided by Deaprtment:

  1. Acting as a data bank, collection, compilation, analysis and interpretation of socio-economic statistical data for catering the statistical needs of the state as well as central government, policy makers, research institutes, experts and scholars engaged in research & development works.
  2. Providing advisory services to the state government on economic and statistical matters for formulation of policies and plans.
  3. Conducting surveys and studies.
  4. Providing secretarial services to District Planning Committes and acts as nodal agency for MPLAD scheme.
  5. Coordination of Twenty Point Programme (TPP) in the state.
  6. Keeping a proper liaison with the Central Statistical Office, Govt. of India and other State Statistical Bureaues of the country.
  7. Coordination of statistical activities of various departments in the state.


7.  Names of Board / Corporations / Commissions / Societies working under the control of the Administrative Department along with information of their Heads as under:

Contact details of District level Offices (District Statistical Offices) under this office:-

Name & Designation e-mail Telephone Nos. Official Website
Office Residence Mobile
Sh. Charanjeet Singh
R.O. (Distt. Amritsar)
0183-2565999 9779779288 9779779288
Sh. Davinder Kumar
Dy. ESA (Distt. Ajitgarh)
0172-5013460 9914052826 9914052826
Smt. Parminder kaur
Dy.ESA (Addl. charge)
(Distt. Barnala)
01679-243232 8146597700 9463034157
 Sh. Harbans Singh
Dy. ESA (Distt. Bathinda)
0164-2217050 9417939229 9417939229
 Sh. Gurdeep Singh
DSO (Distt. Fatehgarh Sahib)
01763-232363 9855283640 8146592700
Smt. Sunita Bains
RO (Addl. charge)
(Distt. Firozpur)
01632-246753 9988202033 7696221882
Sh. Naresh Kumar
RO (Distt. Faridkot )
01639-250069 9814716670 9814716670
Sh. Naresh Kumar
RO (Addl. charge)
(Distt. Fazilka)
01638-260292 9814733796 9814716670
Sh. Ashok Kumar
R.O. (Distt. Gurdaspur)
01874-222722 9915612553 9915612553
Sh.  Rakesh Kalia
Dy.ESA (Distt. Hoshiarpur)


01882-222391 9417402236 9417402236
Dy.ESA (Distt. Jalandhar)
01881-223804 9815760374 9815760374
Smt.Bhupinder Kaur
Dy.ESA (Distt. Kapurthala)
01822-232477 8699027900 8699027900
Sh. Iqbal Singh
DyESA (Distt. Ludhiana)
0161-2427243 9914374517 9914374517
Sh. Harbans Singh
DyESA(Addl.) (Distt. Mansa)
01652-228508 9417939229 9417939229
Smt. Parveen kumari
RO (Distt. Moga)
01636-238330 9988827688 9988827688
Smt. Parminder Kaur
Dy.E.S.A (Distt. Patiala)
0175-2200232 9463034157 9463034157
Sh. Ravinder Pal Dutta
DyESA (Distt. Pathankot)
0186-2221200 9876166091 9876166091
Sh. Ram Lubhaya
Dy.ESA (Distt. Roopnagar)
01881-220528 9463742732 9463742732
Sh. Parmjit Singh
Dy.ESA (Addl. charge)
(Distt. Shri Muktsar Sahib)
01633-241453 8146597700 8146597700
Sh. Harmesh Kumar
DSO (Distt.Sahid Bhagat Singh Nagar)
01823-223090 9464235957 9464235957
Sh. Paramjit Singh
Dy.ESA (Distt. Sangrur)
01672-234172 8146597700 8146597700
Sh. Amandeep Singh
R.O.  (Distt. Tarn Taran)
01852-222790 9814259740 9814259740


For detailed information:

Department's Website: