List of Holidays - 2017 List of Holidays - 2017

It is hereby notified that the holidays enumerated in the schedule below shall be observed  as Public Holidays in the public offices under the Punjab Government during the Calendar Year 2017 - 

SCHEDULE

S. No. Name of the Holiday(s) Date on which they fall Day of the week
1

All Saturdays

   
2

All Sundays

   

 

Other Holidays

S. No. Name of the Holiday(s) Date on which they fall Day of the week

1

Parkash Gurpurab Sri Guru Gobind Singh Ji 5th January Thursday

2

Republic Day 26th January Thursday

3

Basant Panchmi / Birthday of Satguru Ram Singh Ji 1st February Wednesday

4

Birthday of Sri Guru Ravidas Ji 10th February Friday

5

Maha Shivaratri 24th February Friday

6

Holi 13th March Monday
7

Shahidi Divas S. Bhagat Singh Ji

23rd March Thursday
8

Ram Navami

4th April Tuesday
9

Mahavir Jayanti

9th April Sunday
10

Vaisakhi

13th April Thursday

11

Good Friday 14th April Friday

12

Birthday of Dr. B.R. Ambedkar 14th April Friday
13

Lord Parshuram Jayanti

29th April Saturday

14

May Day 1st May Monday

15

Martyrdom Day of Sri Guru Arjun Dev Ji 29th May Monday

16

Kabir Jayanti 9th June Friday

17

Idu'l Fitr 26th June Monday

18

Martyrdom Day of Shahid Udham Singh 31st July Monday

19

Independence Day 15th August Tuesday

20

Janmashtami 15th August Tuesday

21

Parkash Utsav Sri Guru Granth Sahib Ji 22nd August Tuesday

22

Birthday of Baba Sri Chand Ji 30th August Wednesday

23

Id-ul-Zuha (Bakrid) 2nd September Saturday
24

Maharaj Agarsain Jayanti

21th September Thursday

25

Birthday of S. Bhagat Singh Ji 28th September Thursday
26

Dussehra

30th September Saturday

27

Birthday of Mahatma Gandhi Ji 2nd October Monday

28

Birthday of Maharishi Valmiki Ji 5th October Thursday

29

Parkash Gurpurab of Sri Guru Ram Dass Ji 7th October Saturday

30

Diwali 19th October Thursday

31

Vishwakarma Day 20th October Friday

32

Parkash Gurpurab of Sri Guru Nanak Dev Ji 4th November Saturday
33

Shahidi Divas S. Kartar Singh Srabha Ji

16th November Thursday

34

Martyrdom Day of Sri Guru Teg Bahadur Ji 23rd November Thursday

35

Christmas day 25th December Monday

 

Note 1:  Besides the above holidays, each employee will also be permitted to avail himself/herself any two (2) holidays to be chosen by him/her out of the Restricted Holidays below during the Calendar Year 2017 -

S. No. Name of the Holiday(s) Date on which they fall Day of the week

1

New Year Day 1st January Sunday

2

Lohri 13th January Friday
3

Nirwan Diwas of Bhagwan Adinath ji

26th January Thursday
4

International Women Day

8th March Wednesday
5

Holla Mohalla

13th March Monday
6

Buddh Purnima

10th May Wednesday
7

Nirjala Ekadashi

5th June Monday
8

Death Anniversary of Maharaja Ranjit Singh Ji

29th June Thursday
9

Birthday of BabaJiwan Singh Ji

5th September Tuesday
10

Anant Chaturdashi

5th September Tuesday
11

Muharram

1st October Sunday
12

Karva Chauth

8th October Sunday
13

Birthday of Baba Banda Singh Ji Bahadur

16th October Monday
14

GoverdhanPooja

20th October Friday
15

Birthday of Sant Nam Dev Ji

31st October Tuesday
16

New Punjab Day

1st November Wednesday
17

Birthday of Prophet Mohammad Sahib
(Milad-un-Nabi or Id-e-Milad)

2nd December Saturday
18

Jor Mela Sri Fatehgarh Sahib

25th, 26th &
27th December
Monday, Tuesday
& Wednesday

 

In addition to the above holidays each employee will be permitted to avail himself/herself  any four (4) second half day holidays to be chosen by him/her to join the Nagar Kirtan/Sobha Yatra in connection with the list of occassions given below during the Calendar Year, 2017 and the concerned Controlling Authority shall ensure to maintain the record of such holidays -

1. Parkash Gurpurab of Sri Guru Gobind Singh Ji
2. Birthday of Sri Guru Ravi Dass Ji
3. Maha Shivaratri
4. Ram Navmi
5. Mahavir Jayanti
6. Vaisakhi
7. Martyrdom day of Sri Guru Arjun Dev Ji
8. Janmashtami
9. Idu'l Fitr
10. Parkash Gurpurab of Sri Guru Ram Dass Ji
11. Idu'l Zuha (Bakrid)
12. Birthday of Maharishi Valmiki Ji
13. Parkash Gurpurab of Sri Guru Nanak Dev Ji
14. Martyrdom day of Sri Guru Teg Bahadur Ji
15. Christmas Day

The rules applicable in the Restricted Holidays will also be applicable for these half day holidays.

Note 2: The festival of 'Raksha Bandhan' falls on 7th August, 2017 which falls on Monday, Punjab Government Offices will be opened at 11:00AM on that day.